New Home, New Chapter

I did say I was moving, right?

Well, it happened. I am now the happy tenant of a tiny old Cambridge apartment, determined to make it cozy and homey.<3 And that I did, I think. I'm still paying a bit of a premium because of the location I am in (thanks Harvard & MIT), but the convenience of being within walking distance of my campus and having all utilities built into the price is a good deal. I'm living with a couple of roommates too, but we each have our own private bathrooms so it works great. I put a lot of work into my bedroom, thanks to so many key pieces from good friends or luckily found online at great prices or thrifted. Or found on the street. Hahaha. I always say that 70% of my room are hand-me-downs, lol! The life of a struggling grad student abroad. But everything came together great! Just feels really great to have your own place, I gotta say. Everyday I'm grateful. 
It's a great area too. If you are ever in Boston, don't miss out on venturing into the surrounding cities - the Greater Boston area. I would argue that it's better in some ways hehe. Cambridge is probably the easiest to get to because of the T (train) access and how it's right across the Charles River. Easy walk/jog across the different bridges. Aside from the appeal of them colleges around here, Cambridge gives you so much local culture. Lots of little restaurants, eateries, bars, mom & pop shops, and it might also be one of the most diverse neighborhoods around the Boston area. Just walk down the main Cambridge Street and it's like a mini United Nations row with the variety of nationalities represented with each establishment. All the while, maintaining that friendly, neighborhood-y feel. It's not uncommon to see folks wave hi at each other across the street. Lots of oldies and families, but lots of youngins too.

I've been taking long walks down the main artery of my neighborhood in an effort to get to know the area more and find spots to check out. Here are some cool-looking places on da list: 
I even made careful google maps marks for each place I've Tried or Wanna Try. These will save me from cold winter nights once we're in the thick of things at school. Although the grocery store is 5 mins away from me so that is also a plus. And did you see that Whole Foods?? Happy dance. 
Pretty good month of nesting so far! Here's hoping things will continue to look up. We still got Covid lurking everywhere, but all things considered, I'm happy and content. I don't think I've felt this settled and fully myself before. 🙂 It really is true what they say about going off on your own, whether for travel or whatnot. 

But this is just me being romantic again. Haha. It's just, 1 year here! So far so good. ❤ 
View this post on Instagram

New home, new chapter 🤍

A post shared by Maan N (@maannitura) on

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started