Summer, Love

I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to read The Great Gatsby.

The bar is in full swing and floating rounds of cocktails permeate the garden outside, until the air is alive with chatter and laughter, and casual innuendo and introductions forgotten on the spot, and enthusiastic meetings between women who never knew each other’s names. (Chapter 3)

Lol. Almost a hundred years later and F. Scott Fitzgerald is still on point. I just love these social-commentary-style narratives because I fancy myself an observer too. Though it’s not an overly conscious thing. It’s probably just my INFJ coming out at inopportune times during social gatherings hahah. Maybe this is why I love Jane Austen too. I love when writers can articulate exactly what they are feeling and sensing and take a mental/emotional snapshot of a specific moment. But in words. [Maybe also why I unapologetically love Taylor Swift who did so much of this in her early stuff (but that’s a whole other discussion lol). You made a rebel of a careless man’s careful daughter / You are the best thing that’s ever been mine. I mean?? (Sorry, I’m not placing TS alongside Austen and Fitzgerald ok??? But I like her, lol. This post is a stream of consciousness thing let me be hahaha)]

Anyway, that Gatsby excerpt was from the early summer party chapters. And it made me think — I’ve been having the best summer myself, I must say. I already mentioned how the fall and winter here were mostly rough for me (although with a sprinkling of bright moments too). This summer, though, is all LOVE. This might be my favorite Boston season. From the weather, the activities, the long days… It’s like having some of the best bits of PH mixed into the New England quality of life. After almost a year into this adventure, I am finally truly feeling settled and at home. Really, when you cut out all the toxic shiz and just focus on the good, it’s magic. You almost forget about the pandemic. (But, of course, not really. Still being responsible. Still being safe. Still being cautious. Donworry. I just pray for back home though, smh. Stupid stupid situation.)

My Rio-native friend V said the beach heals all ailments and, honestly, she’s so right. I’ve gone to the beach here more times than I’ve had any other summer of my life and it is just glorious. Superficially speaking, I need to acknowledge the best tan I’ve ever had right now. Lol! Only hoping it lasts until winter hahaha. I’ve also been able to more regularly do my city runs/walks, so feeling quite fit and healthy too. As soon as Mod E classes ended this July (finished MIM program btw woo!! And officially graduating ‘with distinction’ yay!), it was really just full-on vacay mode. May not have been able to take advantage of campus rotations, but honestly, no place I’d rather be. It’s been great just doing stuff, enjoying the sun, hanging out with friends (in a socially-distant way of course), and meeting new people. We’ve had little trips, birthdays, picnics, park hangs, and it’s just been the best.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My birthday was pretty great too and was definitely a highlight of summer (I really was born a sweet summer child hahaha). Being able to spend it with my friends here was so unexpectedly heartwarming — why did I even think of leaving for New York (in a pre-pandemic plan) for a solo-trip that week? This was the place to be. Also so much appreciation for my sisterfriends and family back home who were just determined to make it as loving and happy as possible even from miles away. I am so lucky. What did I do to deserve these people in my life?

So yeah, June was the best month. But July isn’t far behind. While we’ve had to do so many goodbyes to people going home and leaving school (the non-dual degree folks! and of course, pandemic problems), it’s been great embracing these fuzzy friendships and other life moments. We will always have Boston. And summer. New experiences happening and I couldn’t be more stoked and grateful. I think being this open, good vibes, say-yes-to-things Maan is doing me good. Or maybe it’s just the warm, sunny days? Haha. Well, here’s hoping the sunny days permeate within. Stocking up for when the cold starts up again lol. I don’t wanna let go of this feeling. 🙂

“And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer.”

Gotta say, I was always stuck on 22 as my favorite age, but 29 is slowly becoming a shining star.

So far.

No jinxes!

P.S. I’m moving soon! All new apartment. New off-campus life. Exciteddddddddd.

You’re alright, America. Here’s to dreaming, looking forward, and keeping on keepin’ on. ❤

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started